Useful Websites

RSE Teaching
Home Education (advice and support for home schooled students): http://www.home-education.org.uk/

Sexplain (an organisation that provide RSE): https://sexplain.org.uk/

LGBTQI+ Support
GIRES (Gender Identity Research & Education Society): https://www.gires.org.uk/

Mermaids (an organisation that supports children, young people, and their families in relation to gender nonconformity): https://mermaidsuk.org.uk/

Pink Therapy (the UK’s largest independent therapy organisation working with gender and sexual diversity clients): https://www.pinktherapy.com/

Young Stonewall (supporting LGBTQI+ young people, to campaign for equality and fair treatment): https://www.youngstonewall.org.uk/

Sexual Health
British HIV Association: https://www.bhiva.org/

Brook Advisory Centres (free, confidential sexual health advice): https://www.brook.org.uk/

Family Planning Association: https://www.fpa.org.uk/

National Health Sexual Health Helpline (free UK calls): https://www.nhs.uk/oneyou/for-your-body/sexual-health/ (or call: 0300 123 7123)

Terrence Higgins Trust (the UK’s leading HIV and sexual health charity): https://www.tht.org.uk/

World Association for Sexual Health (an umbrella organisation representing sexological societies internationally): https://www.facebook.com/WAS.org/

General SEND Support
Autism Toolbox (a resource for Scottish schools but applicable for all schools): http://autismtoolbox.co.uk/

Downs Syndrome Association: https://www.downs-syndrome.org.uk/

National Autistic Society: https://www.autism.org.uk/

Make a wish Foundation (support to help children with life-limiting illness): https://www.make-a-wish.org.uk/

Rainbow Trust Children’s Charity (an organisation that provides support for families with a child who has a life threatening or life limiting illness): https://rainbowtrust.org.uk/

Mental Wellbeing
CAMHS (Childhood and Adolescent Mental Health Services): https://www.nhs.uk/using-the-nhs/nhs-services/mental-health-services/child-and-adolescent-mental-health-services-camhs/

Mind (the mental health charity): https://www.mind.org.uk/

Young Minds (an organisation to help children and young people’s mental wellbeing): https://youngminds.org.uk/

Advocacy and Rights
Action for Children (protecting and supporting children and young people, providing advocacy along with practical and emotional care and support): https://www.actionforchildren.org.uk/

Barnardo’s: https://www.barnardos.org.uk/

Child Line: https://www.childline.org.uk/ (or call: 0800 1111)

Government Equalities Office: https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/government-equalities-office

LGBT Ed (A network of LGBT+ teachers and leaders that empowers them to be authentic in schools, colleges and universities, and to support students while being an advocate for increasing LGBT+ visibility in the education system): http://lgbted.uk/

MACWO (Mother and Child Welfare Organisation): http://www.macwo.org/

National Children’s Bureau (an organisation to bring people and organisations together to drive change in society for a better childhood for the UK): https://www.ncb.org.uk/

NSPCC (National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children): https://www.nspcc.org.uk/

Pathfinder International (an organisation to globally champion sexual and reproductive health and rights): https://www.pathfinder.org

School’s Out UK http://www.schools-out.org.uk/

The Children’s Society (providing help and support for children who may feel scared, unloved, or unable to cope): https://www.childrenssociety.org.uk/

UNICEF (United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund): https://www.unicef.org.uk/

Women’s Aid (an organisation to provide life-saving services for women and children):https://www.womensaid.org.uk/